Skip to content
Schools' Extranet support

Please call us on 0116 454 1120 or email:

Safeguarding in education training offer

The team continue to deliver high quality training courses to all our schools. View the 2023-2024 offer.


Eco-Schools and food for life celebration 2018

Two happy smiling girls wearing funny headbands

On 12 June 2018 we celebrated the hard work of schools in Leicester at our fourth joint Eco-Schools and Food for Life Celebration in City Hall. We warmly welcomed 15 schools along with over 35 guest judges including 6 City Councillors and representatives from many local and national environmental organisations. The event was an opportunity for schools to showcase projects which have taken place over the last 12 months

Further information

Activities came from a wide selection of project ideas including recycling, extinction, the refugee crisis, biodiversity and healthy eating. Judges commented again how difficult it was to pick winners with such enthusiastic students and staff.  Following the more formal judging, students were given the opportunity to judge the other schools’ stalls and pick their Eco-Factor. Prizes were kindly announced and awarded by Cllr Adam Clarke, Deputy City Mayor responsible for Environment, Public Health & Health Integration & Cllr Sarah Russell, Deputy City Mayor responsible for Children and Young People's Services. This year we also awarded our first Healthier Air for Leicester Schools Awards.  For further information about any of the projects please contact Lee Jowett, Environmental Education Coordinator, Leicester City Council 0116 454 2271

We would like to make a special thank you to the Central England Cooperative who kindly sponsored our prizes and awards.

Healthier Air for Leicester Schools Award winners were:

  • Avenue Primary School
  • Mellor Primary School
  • Overdale Junior School
  • Sandfield Close Primary School
  • Bridge Junior School

The winners were:

  • Eco-Schools of the Year – Sandfield Close Primary School
  • Food for Life School of the Year – Bridge Junior School
  • Judges’ special award – Shaftesbury Junior School
  • Eco-factor winner – Humberstone Junior Academy

The schools who attended were:

  • Avenue Primary School
  • Barley Croft Primary School
  • Bridge Junior School
  • Catherine Junior School
  • Charnwood Primary School
  • Christ the King Infant team
  • Christ the King Juniors team
  • Humberstone Junior Academy
  • Linden Primary School
  • Mayflower Primary School
  • Mellor Primary School
  • Overdale Junior School
  • Rowlatts Hill Primary Academy
  • Sandfield Close Primary School
  • Shaftesbury Junior School
  • Soar Valley College 

Please consider the environment.